Teachers and books

Teachers can be funny about books. Yesterday, in 4th Period, I was in class. We weren’t doing anything, having just finished a quiz. I pulled out a book and promptly stuck my nose into it. I guess I kinda tuned him out, for my teacher glared at me and told me that I was being very disrespectful and that he would appreciate it if I put my book away.

He wasn’t being harsh, but he was being firm. That’s okay, because I WAS being rude. So, I put the book away while my face turned the color of a cherry tomatoe.

I have had this problem seinced second grade. I never seem to put down a book once I start to read. It’s kind of sad.

I’ve butted heads with countless teacher about this. My Algebra teacher a few years ago had confiscated by book without any warning. He then proceeded to embarrass me in front of the class about my reading habit. I had to do some serious begging and pleading to earn my book back. (Why didn’t he understand? Raoul was drowning! Christine was about the blow up the Opera House! What sort of Phantom of the Opera Phan would put the book down in a scene such as that?!)

There has been only on teacher who actually undestood my reading habit. I had  History teacher two years ago who could be kind of boring. So, I would read in the middle of class during his lectures. I understood the assingments, it’s just that it was SO boring! However, he never mentioned it to me, but he DID knock down my citazenship grade. My mother was furious, and marched me down to his class during the Parent Teacher Conferences.

He told me that he had discovered my habit, and told me what I was doing was great, fabulous, and wonderful…he just didn’t want me doing it when he was lecturing. A serious book lover himself (he later became the librarian), the teacher understood how hard it was for me to put to book down. He made a point to tell my parents that what I was doing was great. I culd be doing worse things–like texting in class. But, I promised not to read during his lectures, and he allowed me to read as long as I wanted to after he was done with the lesson.

Some teachers are tolerant. Others aren’t. But their reactions are always very different.

~ by w1s3r on March 5, 2010.

9 Responses to “Teachers and books”

  1. The most difficult thing is to find a blog with unique and fresh content but your posts are not alike. Bravo.

  2. Brilliant stuff, man! What you have to say is really important and Im glad you took the time to share it. What you said really spoke to me and I hope that I can learn more about this. thank you for sharing your opinion. I am yet to find anything as enlightening as this on the web.

  3. Lengthy ago i saw your blog so are already reading along. Seemed We leave my first comment. I don’t nicely what to pronounce with the exception that I’ve enjoyed reading. Nice blog. Steer clear of keep visiting this website really often.

  4. You are a very smart individual!

  5. Hi there, just discovered your blog through Google, and located it to be really informative. I’m gonna stay attuned to gas 4 free :. Cheers!

  6. I would like to thnx for the efforts you have contributed in writing this blogpost. I am hoping the same top-quality work from you in the upcoming as well. In fact your creative writing skill has inspired me to get my own blog now. Truly the blogging is spreading its wings quickly. Your write up is a good example of it.

  7. I’m using Internet Explorer at the moment and your navigation bar looks really screwed up. It might be because I’m using an older version, but I thought you should know. It would be a shame if people couldn’t navigate your site due to it not being compatible with their browsers.

    • Oh? I didn’t know that! I’m so sorry! I use Firefox, but I’m on a Mac. It must look different, then. I apologize for the inconvenience. I hope the problem straightens itself out!

Leave a Reply

 
