An Ode To My Head

Another poem I wrote on the day of getting my perm.

My mother gave me many tender things,

for which I am grateful for:

A tender heart

A tender voice

A tender soul

A tender smile

But, there is one tender thing

she bestowed upon my tangled curls:

A tender head.

It cries and moans at the sight of the hairdresser,

and yells in protest at the cruel handbrush forced

into the tangled, wet locks of brown.

The hairstylist, oh so very gently,

tries to conquer the tangled, wet hair,

which had been dry, and silky smooth,

so perfect, a fine tooth comb would not disturb

a tenderness, only a few mere seconds ago,

and succeeds-mostly.

The tender head is a savage beast,

and turns a casual trip to the hairdresser

into a trip to Sore Headville.

But, with soothing, gentle touches

from that blessed conditioner,

the tender head is silenced.

So, mother dearst,

I love you so,

and all of these tender qualities that you

have bestowed upon me, except

for the curse of the tender head.

~ by w1s3r on June 5, 2010.

5 Responses to “An Ode To My Head”

  1. Very Nice website. I recently built mine and i was looking for some design ideas and you gave me a few. Did you develop the website alone?

    Cheers

    • I am happy that I helped you. Yes, I developed this alone–it all started as a school assignment, and I got a little too carried away.

  2. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I suppose that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this is great website. A great read. Ill definitely be back.

  3. I have read a few of the blog posts on your site these few days, and I truly like your style of blogging. I tag it to my favorites web site list and will be checking back soon. Please check out my web site as well and let me know your opinion.

Leave a Reply

 
