Prince Henry And King Leonard Deal With It

Prince Henry stared at Dr. Heywood in horror. “What do mean, Rose and I can’t get married?”

The elderly doctor sighed. He looked tired, King Leonard noticed. The news wasn’t going to be good.

There was a long silence as Dr. Heywood tried to figure out the best way to break the news to the two most powerful men in the kingdom. “You see…Rose is already…”

“Go on,” Leonard said gently. He could tell that his friend was going to give them something that wasn’t good.

Dr. Heywood sighed. “Rose is already married.”

“What?” Henry exploded. “She’s already married? To whom? When did this happen? Why wasn’t I informed about it? Why didn’t you do anything to stop it?”

“Heywood, this is serious,” Leonard said sternly. “I think you better start at the beginning and tell us what’s been going on. You and Rose have been gone for months.”

Dr. Heywood sighed. “I was summoned by the Count. He claimed to need medical assistance.”

“The Count! Heywood, you know how dangerous he is!” The King said in alarm.

The doctor shrugged. “I had to–you know that my cover is to be a doctor. I figured that I shouldn’t leave Rose by herself, so I took her with me.”

“Oh, no,” Henry groaned. He could already see where this was going.

“Rose and I were led into a trap. I was imprisoned…and then–” He couldn’t continue.

“Take your time,” Leonard said gently.

There was a pause as the doctor struggled to speak. “Rose made an offer–she offered to marry the Count if he would let me go. He agreed.”

“Rose married the Count?” Henry roared in disbelief, rising to his feet in anger. “You’re lying!”

Dr. Heywood nodded sadly. “Rose is married to the Count now. There’s nothing we can do about it.”

Henry looked like he was going to strike Dr. Heywood. “This–this can’t be….Oh, Rose!” He suddenly looked crestfallen. “Rose, what have you done?”

~ by w1s3r on September 8, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
