An Unlikely Backstabber

Rose carefully crept down to the dungeon levels. She knew Prince Henry was already down here. Even though she was already married to the Count, Rose still found that she had feelings for Henry.

Using the keys that she had stolen from a guardsmen, she made her way over to Henry’s cell. He looked like he had dozed off.

“Henry,” she whispered.

This jerked him awake. “Rose!” Henry gripped the bars of the cell. “What are you doing down here?”

Rose smiled at him. “I’m setting you free, of course.” She held up the key before using it to unlock the cell.

“Why are you doing this?” Henry asked, clasping her in a tight hug. “Aren’t you coming with me?”

Rose shook her head. “I can’t. I’m married to the Count now, so I need to stay here with him.”

Henry frowned at her. He was obviously unhappy at being reminded of the fact that Rose was married to the Count. “You could come with me. My father could hide you easily.”

“Henry,” she said, looking up into his face. “It would be easier if you got out of here by yourself. You can’t save me.”

The Prince looked frustrated. “But I have to somehow get you away from the Count.”

Rose pulled on his arm, toward the exit of the dungeons. “I’m not going to let this opportunity go to waste. The Count is distracted by the party going on. If you sneak out of here, I’ll go back up to the party and act like I had nothing to do with your escape.”

“But Rose–” Prince Henry started.

Rose surprised him by pressing her mouth to his. It was at that moment that Henry realized that Rose was right. If he was going to get out here alive, he would have to use this opportunity to do it now. If he stayed here any longer, the Count would certainly kill him.

Slowly, Rose pulled away. “I hope you understand.”

Henry nodded. “I do. I love you.”

Rose smiled and touched his face. “I love you, too.” She moved toward the stairs leading to the upper levels of the castle. “Don’t let me find you down here, Henry. I’ll leave the matters of escaping up to you. I need to return to the party before someone notices that I’m missing.”

Henry nodded, showing that he understood. “All right. I’ll go. But promise me you’ll try to stay safe, Rose.”

Rose touched a hand to her heart. “I promise.” She slipped up the stairs, back toward the party.

~ by w1s3r on March 28, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
